7: Possessions

I’m joining Marla for another read-a-long.  You can find all posts in this series here.

This post was initially titled “7: The purge.”  I thought I was going to list all the things I’d gotten rid of in our house this weekend.

But, yesterday morning, I realized that something was wrong with my car.  My husband and I have our own cars and I’m a stay at home Mom.  My toddler and I usually get out of the house most days of the week.  We love to interact with strangers at the library and grocery stores.  I’m a couponer and we go to various stores each week.  We’ve also been driving to the park lately because my arm has been bothering me and I can’t fathom pushing my daughter in her stroller all the way to the park and back.

I was seriously bummed about my car having a problem and my attitude started getting really bad.  And then I got to thinking about couples who only have one car.  And what about people with no car???  (Like my parents).   How can I have a pity party for myself simply because my car is gonna need some work and it’s a bit inconvenient for me??  If I weren’t reading 7: An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess, it probably would not have even dawned on me that I need to just suck it up.

Over the weekend we drove 2 hours round trip and I am so thankful that the car was fine that entire time.  My husband plans to take my car in on Saturday.  I don’t have any  huge plans this week.  A friend is coming over for brunch, so I’m gonna make something that I already have ingredients for on hand (not sure what yet, but I have a few ideas in mind).  My Mom is visiting for a couple of days and I need to pick her up from the bus stop.  And I have a Dental appointment.   Nothing major that can’t be figured out.  In fact, my husband thinks it’s okay to drive the car short distances.  I’m terrified of doing more harm to the car and/or getting stranded.  But, really, this is not the end of the world.

Now a word about where I’m at with possessions.  I do feel like we have too much stuff.  Things we never use, duplicate items (we never use) etc.  But, my sweet Mom pointed out a while ago that we have nothing compared to others.   That made me feel better in the moment.  But really, I don’t want to compare what I have to what someone else has.  I want to only have things that we need or at least actually use.  I get so stressed out when I see clutter everywhere.  I love seeing empty space where something used to be.

I have been trying to declutter our house for probably a year now and it has been a very sloooow process!  Part of the reason it’s taking so long is because I have a lot of things I’d rather sell on eBay and make money off of (to support my Compassion child) versus just donating them.  There have been a few things I’ve listed on eBay repeatedly (and keep lowering the price) and haven’t gotten any takers.  So, I’m going to donate some of those items.

I’m hoping to do some more purging this week, especially since I’ll be homebound.  The Lord’s timing is always perfect, isn’t it?

P.S. Would you pray for my sister and her family?  They have a toddler and a newborn and have been sick and have just had one thing after another.  My sister is exhausted and just so worn out.  Thank you!

4 thoughts on “7: Possessions

  1. clutter stresses me too – shoulda thought about that before marrying a packrat! 🙂 but sometimes being unhappy with the clutter also provides an idol. instead of worshiping the accumulation of stuff, i make my focus getting rid of anything and everything, without a thought as to how it affects others. what a topic to dive into!

  2. Good for you for purging! Hope things get better for your sister. And I am so with you on the comparing thing! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

