7: Clothes

I’m joining Marla for another read-a-long.  You can find all posts in this series here.

To be honest, I’ve been feeling rather convicted while reading other blog posts/comments in the read-a-long.  I’m reflecting on how I like to try new things and challenge myself and always like to have some new and exciting thing going on.  I guess just because it makes my life feel more interesting than it would be otherwise.  But, if the point of this challenge is to be listening to God and doing whatever he guides me to do, getting rid of the excess in my life, well, then I’ve just about missed the entire point!

I am LOVING reading the book and the other posts and will probably continue posting myself.  But, right now I’m not going to actually be participating in any of the challenges.  My heart and head are just not in the right place.

I started to write a huge long post on clothes.  But, here it is in a nutshell.  I’m torn about clothes.  I like to dress “cute” but lately feel like I have no idea what looks good on me anymore, or if a pair of jeans that would actually fit me properly even exists.  I am torn between wanting to dress cute and wanting to pare down my wardrobe and spend money that would usually go toward clothing, on something (or someones) to impact the Kingdom of Christ.

Here are a few quotes that really stuck out to me in this chapter.

“The first question which the priest and the Levite asked was: ‘If I stop to help this man, what will happen to me?’  But the good Samaritan reversed the question: ‘If I do not stop to help this man, what will happen to him?'”  

-Martin Luther King Jr.

Oh, if only I could get over myself and stop wondering what will happen to me if I do or don’t do this, and instead focus on what will happen to someone else if I don’t help them in any way I can.

“When we hear “fast,” we put on a yoke of self-denial.  When God said “fast,” He meant to take off the yoke of oppression.”

Wow!  I have very little experience with fasting, but it is so true that I look at it as denying myself and basically being a bit miserable, by choice.  Taking off the yoke of oppression sounds so appealing right now!

“There was nothing physically attractive about Jesus.  He wasn’t rich or notorious, well-dressed or handsome. At first glimpse Jesus was forgettable, neither standing out for beauty or charisma.  Maybe this is why the widow and marginalized and sick and outcast flocked to Him.  He was approachable in every way.”

I’ve been thinking about how much I’ve changed (for the worse) in the past few years.  I think I used to be a pretty approachable person.  I had friends in all kinds of walks of life and I liked it that way.  Now?  Pretty much every person I know where I live is a Christian.  And I have become so judgmental, and I don’t know why.  But, I really hate it about myself and want to get back to that old aspect of myself.

I just want to be like Jesus and get rid of my ugly heart.

6 thoughts on “7: Clothes

  1. I loved that part too, the Martin Luther comment. What will happen to him if I don’t help him? God has been showing me my heart too and I am with you in wanting to be like Jesus! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Girl, the fact that you can see the ugliness in your heart is a HUGE first step. The times in my life when I think, “Wow, I really have it all together right now. I’m doing everything right. I’m such a good person.” are usually the times when I’m NOT putting Christ first. When I’m NOT being honest about my sinful heart. When I’m focused on ME.

    I’m going to pray that God will move you from the realization of what’s going on inside you to some concrete action steps to making change. You are NOT alone, and I’m so proud of your honesty and transparency.

    Hugs, hugs, hugs!!

  3. Really enjoyed this. I’m struggling with the 7 thing…..as I should. What really rings true to me in your post are the 2 quotes from the book. As someone who works in the corporate world, I’ve got all kinds of opinions about this clothes stuff. But being approachable and getting rid of the yoke of oppression are at the heart of the matter. No matter how cute we’re looking that day 🙂
    Thanks for sharing!

  4. i think there is a balance to be found. if we are selective about what and where we buy, we can still look cute but be free from the chains that bind us. i’m still working out the particulars but i’m fairly certain we’re not called to sack cloth and ashes all of the time.

  5. I had highlighted those same quotes! This idea of truly fasting in the way God planned for it has been big for me. I want to dig deeper with this. I’m working on the balance of feasting and fasting. I’ll be praying with you as you go forward. Blessings!

Leave a Reply

