7: Food

I’m joining Marla for another read-a-long.  You can find all posts in this series here.

“A rise in prosperity is not making people happier or healthier.  Findings from a survey of life satisfaction in more than sixty-five countries indicate that income and happiness track well until about $13,000 of annual income per person.  After that, additional income produces only modest increments in self-reported happiness.”

My husband had his annual review at work last week and got a small raise.  He didn’t seem to care a lick about it, stating that it will probably result in most of the extra income going towards taxes and we might see about $20 a month extra.  (I, on the other hand was ecstatic.  A raise is a raise.  And, some people are fortunate just to have a job, so a raise in this economy? That’s awesome!)  But, I do agree that once you have “enough” income to meet your basic needs, really, what do you need a higher salary for?

“I’m  sure Jesus got the “I-thought-you-were-normal-but now-I-see-I-was -plainly-wrong” face plenty of times.  He seriously knew how to thin out a crowd.  He always gunned for less, reduced, simplified.”

I love the idea of Jesus being our model for reducing and simplifying.  Who can argue with following his lead on this?

“Our kids are the first generation in the history of America that has a shorter life span than their parents.”

This is the first time I’ve heard this.  And, quite frankly, it is a horrifying thought to me.  Why on earth should I live to an older age than my children?  What with all the progress we’ve made medically etc., surely, our children should have a longer life expectancy than us.

I think I’m going to wait until I’ve read the book through once completely before I start each months challenge. I am not a food lover.  I am a picky eater (though I’m much less picky than I used to be), and if I didn’t have to eat food to live, I don’t think I would eat it very often.  It’s seriously just one more thing I have to get done in a day.

I think it was Valerie (who is also doing the read-a-long) who mentioned she’d be giving up 7 foods for the first month, versus limiting herself to 7 foods.  I like her thinking and am pretty sure that’s what I’m gonna do when the time comes.  I haven’t chosen the 7 foods I’ll avoid, but for the safety of my friends and family, I don’t think I’ll be giving up chocolate.  Or maybe I will.  We’ll see.

8 thoughts on “7: Food

  1. i have to agree with you on the money thing – my husband and i have all of our needs (and most of our wants) met, so i find it difficult to strive for a higher paying job. i don’t make much right now, but i enjoy what i do & find it more satisfying than a larger paycheck.

    as for giving up 7 items – i find the idea intriguing (although i’m not sure my diet is varied enough to pull it off)

  2. I can attest to the higher salary not making you happier. There was a brief period of time when I made a lot of money (to me anyway) writing curriculum for an educational publisher. And what did I do with all that money?? I have no idea.

    Thanks for sharing, friend!

  3. I too, love the idea of Jesus being our model in simplifying. If Jesus isn’t my model, if simplifying isn’t a means of following Him, then I see a great risk in it being an attempt to go around Him to earn righteousness or else making “simplicity” some ideal I worship instead of Jesus.

  4. Hmmm, giving up 7 food items! it would have to be stuff that I LIVE FOR to make that worthwhile. That might include chocolate, cheese (oh that would induce a mental crisis), baked goods (love muffins), Mexican Food (because I can’t go a week without), tomatoes (again crisis) and pasta.

  5. Wow, I loved the quotes you shared in this blog. Good stuff. And yes, we are headed in the wrong direction if our kids have shorter life expectancy. Yikes. I love that Jesus is our model to simplify and get out from the under excess. While this book is challenging, I feel like the freedom that will accompany any reduction we embark will be so worth it!!

  6. Hey, that’s me! I’m Valerie! And I’m so glad you liked my idea. As of March 1, I gave up sweet tea (oh, sweet tea, how I miss you!), coffee, soda, refined white sugar/white flour products, anything from the “itos” food group (Cheetos, Doritos, Fritos LOL), red meat, and most importantly and most difficult, fast food! It hasn’t been as hard as I thought it would be, but I have had awful headaches several days, and I wonder if it could be sugar or caffiene withdrawal? And I cheated a little today. My tummy was upset and I didn’t have anything soothing at home, so on my way to the nursing home to visit with my MIL I got a smoothie at McDonald’s. But I’m not going to beat myself, because I really, really wanted fries too, but I resisted temptation.

    I’m still waiting on God to find out what He’s going to teach me. So far the whole week has been a mess. I did get the documentary “Food, Inc” from Netflix and yuck. It makes me not want to eat fast food hamburgers anymore. I am eating a lot more fresh fruits and veggies than I used to.

    I think the most valuable thing about joining this read-along has been “meeting” new people online and reading great, new-to-me blogs, such as yours. God bless and keep up the great work!

    • Valerie, thanks for the inspiration! Good for you for resisting those fries. McDonald’s french fries are my favorite fries ever. I know how tempting they are! I have loved meeting new people online too.

Leave a Reply

