National Day of Listening

While I love to get a good deal, I am not willing to fight the crowds (or lose sleep) for any deal.  This year, I am participating in StoryCorps alternative to “Black Friday” and celebrating today, the National Day of Listening.  One of the things they are encouraging people to do is to share a story about a favorite teacher.  You can find more info on their website.

My Kindergarten teacher passed away years ago, but I have fond memories of her.  I believe I first met her when my brother was in Kindergarten.  I was elated that she was my first teacher too. She had all sorts of creative ways to teach us, but my favorite memory is “visiting” other countries.  She made each student a little Passport booklet, complete with our picture and names in it.  We would “visit” different parts of the world and learn about their culture. The one I remember best is when we “visited” Japan.  I still remember how to count to 10 in Japanese:

ichi
ni
san
shi
go
roku
shichi
hachi
kyuu
juu (yes I had to look up how to spell the numbers!)

I always enjoyed school and learning and attribute it, at least partly, to getting off to a great start with a wonderful teacher.

Thanks Ms. Lessig!

Leave a Reply

