I broke the cardinal rule

You know how you aren’t supposed to cook a new dish when you have company coming over to eat?  Well, a few weeks back, we had a couple from church over for dinner.  I was trying to figure out what to make for dessert.  Unfortunately, I was all out of my standby, brownies.  (Or rather brownie mix).  I did have a couple of packages of cookie mix.  But, it was a brand I’d never made before.  I’m too lazy to actually shape dough into cookies, so I usually just put all the dough in an 8×8 dish and cook it. The package actually had instructions for doing that and putting toffee in too. That sounded amazing, but I didn’t have any toffee on hand.  So, I added butterscotch chips instead.  And, if I may say, it turned out AMAZINGLY!  I ended up making the “cookies” again last week, here’s a picture.  (Yes, when it’s just DH and I eating, we just stick a fork in the dish and eat directly out of it.)

Last week, we went to a dinner and I was supposed to bring a veggie.  I didn’t want to bring something plain and boring, like green beans or corn.  And I also wanted to bring something that didn’t need to be warm.  I did about 3 minutes of online research for a recipe and found one that sounded good.  Here it is:

COLD ITALIAN PASTA AND VEGETABLE SALAD
1 box tri-colored rotini pasta
1 (1 lb.) bag frozen cauliflower, carrot, broccoli combination thawed
1 bottle favorite italian salad dressing regular or lite
Cook pasta according to package directions. Rinse with cold water and drain well. Add thawed vegetables to pasta. Decorate with tomato wedges and radish roses or pepper rings.

http://www.cooks.com/rec/view/0%2c1918%2c154185-242204%2c00.html

I had Caesar and Ranch dressing on hand, so I tried making it with those first.  I didn’t like how either of them turned out.  In the end, I found some Italian dressing on sale and decided to use that, as the recipe called for.

The directions say to use frozen vegetables that are thawed.  So, I put the vegetables in the fridge the afternoon before I needed them.  The next morning, they were still frozen.  I had made the pasta the day before and decided to take the veggies out of the bag and mix them in with the pasta.  Bad idea.  A few hours before we needed to head to the dinner, not only were the veggies still frozen, but the pasta had frozen too!

I dug all the veggies out and defrosted them in the microwave, then put them back in the fridge to get super cold again.  And I left the pasta out on the counter for a bit and mixed in the dressing.

Just before it was time to go, I added the veggies back in, along with some freshly cut tomatoes and tons of salad dressing.

And no, Sister, I did not make the decorative radish roses!  (I had sent the recipe to my sister when I found it to see what she thought of it and she teasingly told me that she wanted to see a picture of the radish roses I made.  Then she emailed me the day of the event asking how they were coming along.)

The salad actually turned out pretty well.  I liked it and a couple of people commented on how good it was.  Oh, and sweet DH leaned over as we were eating at the dinner and whispered that he liked my salad better than the green salad someone else brought 🙂

Sorry, no picture of the salad.

 

One thought on “I broke the cardinal rule

  1. Thanks for stopping by my blog and your kind comment. I have been working on sending more out of my house then I bring in for almost 4 years now. When I had my 4th baby I asked a woman with 7 children how she fit them all in. She told me the more children she had the less stuff she kept. She was right:)

Leave a Reply

