Why I Hate Daylight Savings Time

Okay, people, raise your hand if you actually got an extra hours sleep last night.

My hand is not raised.

I didn’t really expect to get extra sleep.  But, I was still kind of hoping in the back of my mind.

I have always had trouble sleeping and the time change deal really throws me off.  I tend to be an early riser no matter what time I go to bed.  So, this morning, I woke up at 4:30am (new time), which is unacceptable in my book! That is a tad too early to be starting my mornings.

Another beef I have with the time change is that I always resort to thinking, “Okay, 4:30am new time, that means 5:30am old time.  That’s not such a terrible time to wake up.  But, then when do I eat lunch?  11am? (new time) That seems early.  But, I’ll be starving if I wait until 12pm (new time).”  You see, I obsess over new time versus old time.

And the #1 reason why I hate daylights savings time?  So glad you asked.  How on earth are you supposed to get your toddler to adjust her sleep schedule to comply with the time change?  A few nights ago, we starting pushing DD bedtime back each night by 10-15 minutes, in hopes that she’d get accustomed to going to bed later and waking up later.  She usually goes to bed at 7pm and wakes up anywhere from 5:30am – 7am.  I did not want to start putting her to bed at 6pm (new time) and have her waking up before 7am (new time).

But, as usual, my brilliant plan was foiled!  DD went to bed just before 8pm last night (so 7pm new time) and woke up at 6am (new time).  Which just means that she went to bed late and woke up at her usual time. (If you go by the old time).  See, I told you I was obsessed with tracking old time vs new time.

I guess it all boils down to this.   How can I expect her little body to adjust to the time change when I’m an adult and am aware of the time change and have been experiencing them for the past 30+ years, and yet I went to bed at my normal time last night (I was too wiped out to stay up later in hopes that I’d sleep longer in the morning.  And I had no guarantee that DD would sleep in, so really, I needed to get to bed at a decent time).  And I woke up too early.

I haven’t really given this much thought, but as far as I know, the whole reason for the time change has to do with daylight hours.  I am all for daylight, but couldn’t we just permanently adjust our time by 30 minutes?  It sounds simple, so I imagine it’s not a real solution.  But, I thought I’d at least throw it out there.

Oh, darn!  I think I already found a flaw in my plan.  Okay, well that was my only solution.  Do you have any?

Leave a Reply

