Reverse trick or treating

I grew up in a large apartment complex full of kids.  On Halloween, we all got dressed up and trick or treated in our complex.  No need to venture out across any streets when we had plenty of opportunity to get candy in our own back yard.

Last year we dressed our  (then) 9 month old up DD as a cow for a kids party at DH work.  This year I bought her a ladybug costume, in anticipation of going to the work party again.  It hadn’t dawned on me that DD might not be game for wearing her costume since it had to go over her head and there was a hood too.  The first time I tried to put it on her, I realized we had a problem.  She did not want to wear her costume!  We let her play with it for a while, hoping she’d be more willing to put it on.  Then one day  my Mom tried to get DD to wear it.  And she was successful!

Anyways, we found out last week that the day and time of the party is the same as a training DH is supposed to be at.  So, I was totally bummed that I had bought a costume that DD wouldn’t get to wear.  DH was totally against taking her trick or treating.  But, I suggested we stop by a few people’s houses from our church and do reverse trick or treating.  That is, not take anything from them, but bring them something.  I made pumpkin muffins and put them in Ziploc bags to give out.

We went to two houses and they were elated to see DD all dressed up.  The second couples house we went to even gave DD a tiny little pumpkin to take home with her (since we weren’t letting her have candy).  She was over the moon!  We see pumpkins in the store all the time and on people’s front porches, but we hadn’t bought any.  So it was a real treat for her to take home a pumpkin.

We planned to go to our Pastor’s house, but all the lights were off and we figured they weren’t home and/or weren’t participating in Halloween.

As we pulled into our driveway, I saw our neighbors from across the street out with their kids.  Their third baby was just born a couple of weeks ago, so I ran across the street to say hi and gave them the last bag of pumpkin muffins.

I do love candy, but I have to say, it was more fun to give than to receive tonight.

I’m participating in the Women Living Well Wednesday Link Up Party.  Click the button below to see others who are participating as well.

Leave a Reply

