31 Days of Date Nights {Day 28} Childhood Movie

Welcome to 31 Days of Date Nights. My plan is to give you a simple date night idea, (mostly frugal ones) every day for the month of October.   You can access all posts in this series here.

When we were  getting settled into our current home,  we came across a bunch of movie soundtracks that DH had from movies he had seen as a child.   One of the soundtracks was to the movie “The American Tail.”

An American Tail: Music From The Motion Picture Soundtrack

We had both seen the movie as kids.  But, we hadn’t seen it since.  I listened to the soundtrack, but only remembered the song “Somewhere Out There.”

I started looking on eBay for a used copy of the movie to surprise DH with.  He’s not big into gifts, but I thought this would for sure make his day.  I was able to get it for $2.50, including shipping.

We sat down and watched the movie together on one of our “stay at home” date nights.  We were surprised at how little either of us had actually remembered about the movie.

We also watched “The Little Mermaid”

Product Details

which is one of my favorite Disney movies.  DH hadn’t ever seen that movie.  And, in fact, he said we most definitely would not be letting DD see the movie because it was all about rebelling from her dad!  lol!  I had never thought about it that way, but I see his point.

As I’ve mentioned, you can get movies from Redbox for super cheap, or free.  I’ve also been able to stream a few free movies from Amazon.com when they’ve had a special On Demand offer.

As to when/if DD gets to see “The Little Mermaid,” I’ll keep you posted.  So far she hasn’t seen any movies, but we’ll see what the future brings.

3 thoughts on “31 Days of Date Nights {Day 28} Childhood Movie

  1. I remember watching An American Tail as a kid too (except dubbed in Dutch) – I loved it. What a fun idea to watch a movie you enjoyed as kids together!

  2. Oh my, my, my! An American Tale was actually the first movie my husband and I ever went to on a date! And we pretty much fell in love during that movie (at least, he says he did with me.) I can’t get him alone, since we have 10 kids, but I may just have to lock him in our room and get him to watch that with me. How romantic would that be?!!! You have to know my husband to know how difficult that will be. Plus, he’s working in another state right now, which makes it impossible. 😦 But you’ve given me a great idea for a future date night!

    BTW, thanks for coming by my blog and leaving a comment. We were only in CO for about a month, but we liked it there and hoped we would be able to live there. But it didn’t work out.

    I love your blog template. I used to have it on my very first blog. I still like it, but I wanted to put pictures of my kids in my header, so I ended up having somebody else make me one.

    Wow, I’ve left a big comment, haven’t I? I just wanted to say thanks, but I got all excited about An American Tale and the thought that maybe I’ll get my husband’s complete attention some night in the near future!

    Love,
    Penney

Leave a Reply

