31 Days of Date Nights {Day 20} Easel Art

Welcome to 31 Days of Date Nights. My plan is to give you a simple date night idea, (mostly frugal ones) every day for the month of October.   You can access all posts in this series here.

In cleaning off my book shelf recently, I came across the book: “More Creative Dating” by Doug Fields and Todd Temple.

I have no idea where I got it.  I’m sure I either got it super cheap or for free.  And I must not have read any of the book before taking it home, otherwise I never would have bothered with it!  So far, most of the ideas that I’ve read in this book are pure nonsense!  (In my humble opinion anyways).

But, I did think one idea (with a twist) was a fun date night idea.  The book says to get an easel and put it out on the street and have your date pose while you draw their portrait. The idea is that strangers will stop by to see your work.

Neither DH nor I would ever do this in public.  But, I thought it would be a fun stay at home date.  We had all the necessary supplies in our basement.  A blank notepad, crayons, colored pencils, paint and markers.  In the end, DH decided we should keep it super simple.  So we used blank paper and a #2 pencil to do our sketches.

We decided to take turns drawing one another.  DH was going to draw me first and said he’d take 10 minutes.  Then I could take 10 minutes to draw him.  And then if we needed more time, we could finish up after that.  Ha!  I told him I was sure I’d only need about one minute to draw him.  (That’s because I have no artistic ability whatsoever and the more time I spent on my drawing, the worse it would get!)

Here’s how our sketches turned out.

This is me (drawn by DH).  Sorry it’s so light!

He actually did a really good job! I was sitting in a chair, sideways, with my elbow propped up on the back of the chair and my head was resting on my hand.

This is DH (drawn by me):

See, I told you I was no artist!  DH was actually sitting down facing me with his hands in his lap.  But I knew there was no way I’d be able to draw such a pose.  By the way, the squiggly lines on his arms and legs are supposed to be muscles.  Just in the rare chance that you couldn’t tell 😉

While we certainly won’t be paid to do any future sketches, we both had a lot of fun attempting to draw one another.  I watched DH as he was sketching me and he was smiling the entire time 🙂  If that isn’t a sign of a good date, I don’t know what is!

Leave a Reply

