31 Days of Date Nights {Day 19} Batting Cages

Welcome to 31 Days of Date Nights. My plan is to give you a simple date night idea, (mostly frugal ones) every day for the month of October.   You can access all posts in this series here.

Yesterday I posted about a mini golf date.  The last time we did this was a couple of months ago and after a round of golf, we headed over to the batting cages which are on the same property as the mini golf courses.

Someone who played on our church softball team with DH a while back gave out a bunch of tokens that are good at the batting cages.  So this portion of our date was totally free.   I had never been in a batting cage in my life, though I had seen DH practice there once before.

As I’ve mentioned, I don’t have an athletic bone in my body. But I had decided ahead of time that if DH asked if I wanted to hit a round, I would.   (The previous time we had been at the batting cages, I was pregnant with DD, so there was no chance I’d get into the batting cage!)  DH played two rounds and then asked if I wanted to play one.  I said sure.

Fortunately, the fast pitch cages were full, so we were in the slow pitch one.  I put on a helmet, stood on the plate and did my best to hit the ball as it came to me.

Apparently the machines are getting old because some of the balls stopped far before reaching the plate!  But, the ones that got close enough for me to hit, I hit!  I was super pleased with myself for giving it a shot, and actually making contact with some of the balls!

Now I’m kinda sad that we don’t have any  more tokens left.  I’ll probably never have the opportunity to step foot in a batting cage again.

The batting cages we went to were outside, but I’m sure there are ones you could go to inside if the weather isn’t nice enough to go outside.

Leave a Reply

