31 Days of Date Nights {Day 15} Gelato + Lowe’s

Welcome to 31 Days of Date Nights. My plan is to give you a simple date night idea, (mostly frugal ones) every day for the month of October.   You can access all posts in this series here.

We get all kinds of coupons in the mail for places we’ve never been.  A couple of months ago (and again last night) we went to a new Gelato place.  We never would have gone there without a coupon, but I am so glad to have been introduced to such a neat place!

They have your typical small tables and chairs.  But, in the back, there is a fireplace (never on, just filled with rocks, but still cool) a couch for two and a book shelf with all kinds of random books.

On the first visit we read from “One Thousand and One Arabian Nights” because DH was interested in the story “Ali Baba and the Forty Thieves “.

Last night we read in the book “From Homer to Harry Potter” about how Christians tend to appreciate C.S. Lewis and the Narnia series, but pooh-pooh the Harry Potter series.

There is a Lowe’s Hardware Store in the same parking lot as the Gelato place.  We headed over there just to wander around (something we never do.  I have been to Lowe’s  maybe twice in my life, counting last nights visit!)  We looked at the Christmas decorations and then some blinds.  We’ve been wanting to get some room darkening blinds for our spare bedroom and we found the coolest ones at Lowe’s.  They are horizontal blinds and they operate without you having to pull on any cords.

Photo courtesy of blinds.com

DH (an engineer) spent a long time playing with them trying to figure out what mechanism allowed them to work the way they do.  Basically, you just push up the blinds as high as you want them to go and they just stay there!  And then you can just pull them down, and they just stay there!

I sure hope we can get those awesome blinds  in the near future.

One thought on “31 Days of Date Nights {Day 15} Gelato + Lowe’s

  1. They are fantastic blinds! I broke my blinds when I was 16, I think, and my mom bought these ones since they were easier to move.

    I love your thoughts on my friend A’s post on critiquing writing. I know I’ve often run into a situation where I thought I was making clear connections in a paper and as it turned out, I wasn’t. So it’s certainly important for us to have someone look over our writing who gives constructive criticism!

Leave a Reply

