31 Days of Date Night Ideas {Day 13} Coffee

Welcome to 31 Days of Date Nights. My plan is to give you a simple date night idea, (mostly frugal ones) every day for the month of October.   You can access all posts in this series here.

Starbucks is kind of our fall back plan when it comes to date nights.  Mostly because DH occasionally gets gift cards to Starbucks from his work.  There is a Starbucks close to us that we often go to just to get a drink, hang out and talk.

I recently heard that Starbucks has pumpkin spice again (it’s only available for the last few months each year) and so I was dying to get a mocha with pumpkin spice.  One of my old bosses got me hooked on that little treat years ago.  Yum!!

We hadn’t been to Starbucks for a while and I found it odd that there was a parked truck, without anyone in it, in the drive thru. There were people hanging out at the tables and chairs outside, like usual.  But when we got to the doors, they were locked!  Then we noticed a sign saying they were remodeling and only open certain hours.  As DH pointed out, the place did not look shabby at all, so why were they spending money to remodel it??

Fortunately, there is another Starbucks super close to our house, so we went there.  I only knew that hidden location existed because I had taken DD there with a friend once last year because its smaller and quieter and my friend thought it might be a better atmosphere for DD.  DH hadn’t even ever been to that location though.

I had brought my Bible along because there was a theological issue that DH and I don’t agree on, so we decided to see what the Bible had to say on it.  When we first dove in, I thought DH was right.  But then I found a little leeway, that perhaps I was right.  We didn’t come to a conclusion by the end of the date, but it was fun to be able to study and discuss without any interruptions.  (And for the record, this is something we don’t normally do.  That is, discuss theological issues, or bring our Bible to Starbucks.  Not that there’s anything wrong with either of those things, just don’t want you to get the idea that we are some super spiritual couple).

I recently got a new cell phone, so I begged DH to let me take his picture so it would pop up whenever he called me.  Apparently I kept moving the phone before it was done taking the picture, so it took quite a few attempts.  After we got that taken care of,  we headed home.

It wasn’t a fancy or super exciting date, and it wasn’t a very long date.  But it was great to get out of the house and have some alone time, together.

Leave a Reply

