31 Days of Date Nights {Day 8} Fly a Kite

Welcome to 31 Days of Date Nights. My plan is to give you a simple date night idea, (mostly frugal ones) every day for the month of October.   You can access all posts in this series here.

I couldn’t tell you the last time I actually flew a kite.  But, I can tell you about the last time I thought I was going to.

We’ve had some good wind in our area lately.  And we have a park nearby.   So, I pulled out a kite that I’d been given as a gift over 10 years ago.  When we opened up the box, DH realized that it wasn’t a kite that was ready to go.  It was like a model airplane kit that had to be assembled.  And we didn’t have wood glue or kite string.  So, that idea went out the window.  (Here is a picture of what the kite would look like if we assembled it).

Product Details

But, I imagine kites are inexpensive and we could have just bought one.  Or made one.  DH grew up making his own kites!   I’m sure there are loads of tutorials online on how to make your own kite, but here’s one to get you started.

Here’s a funny story.  I went to visit a friend a few years back in Florida.  We were hanging out at the beach, when we witnessed what we thought were two birds mating.  A while later, we realized it was actually a kite that somebody was flying that had two birds on the same line.  I wish I had a picture to show you.  I think you’d agree that the birds looked very real.

One thought on “31 Days of Date Nights {Day 8} Fly a Kite

  1. I think that’s a great idea for date -day! we need to play together!

    Thanks for visiting my site and just wanted to mention that if and when you do go camping- (there are plenty of places with water, electric, showers 🙂 anyhow- the list you saw was one of a set – there is a “kitchen camp” list and there is “camp gear” list of things I’ve found (sometimes the hard way) to come in handy. I do hope you decide to participate with your family in the camping experience – you can start small 🙂 It’s such a special time to share and the memories will stay with your child/children forever! glad to blog meet you-

Leave a Reply

