31 Days of Date Nights {Day 7} Dance lessons

Welcome to 31 Days of Date Nights. My plan is to give you a simple date night idea, (mostly frugal ones) every day for the month of October.   You can access all posts in this series here.

I love music. And I love to dance, too. I’m not necessarily talented at dancing, but it’s still something that brings me great joy. I used to go out to the club when I was younger, but it was really depressing to see people totally wasted and hooking up with strangers.  And I just wanted to dance, enjoy the music, hang out with friends, and not be bothered by any strangers.

A neighbor had the perfect way for me to still be able to get out and dance, without having to resort to going to clubs.  She told DH and I about couples dance lessons in our area. We went for a few months and had a blast. The lessons were once a week and you’d learn the moves to one dance per month.

We stopped going after I became pregnant with DD, because, well, morning sickness (and later being hugely pregnant) don’t go well with twirling around on the dance floor.

One of the great things about taking the lessons was that we had a built-in date night (the night of our lessons). And then we would go home and practice the new moves we’d learned throughout the week. Which meant we were spending even more time together, doing something fun, and learning something new together.

We even started writing down the moves to each dance so that we could jog our memories in the future when we’d forgotten some of them. (You can also look for videos on YouTube to watch how certain dances are done. But, in our experience, we never could find anything that looked like the same moves we were learning!)

Our particular location had a punch card so you could get a discount if you paid for lessons in advance and then just had your card punched each time you went. In my old city, you could take dance lessons at the local rec center for fairly cheap.

My only regret? That DH and I didn’t take dance lessons BEFORE we got married! Our first dance at our wedding would have been so much better if we’d had a clue how to dance together!

If you are single, there are dance classes for singles, too. So, don’t think you are excluded if you aren’t dating or married!

One thought on “31 Days of Date Nights {Day 7} Dance lessons

Leave a Reply

