James 5: Be patient

James 5:7-8 Be patient, then, brothers and sisters, until the Lord’s coming. See how the farmer waits for the land to yield its valuable crop, patiently waiting for the autumn and spring rains.  You too, be patient and stand firm, because the Lord’s coming is near.

I imagine most people could use some help in the area of patience.  I know it’s a big struggle of mine.

During a Beth Moore study I did earlier this year, I  realized that when I hastily wish for Jesus to return sooner rather than later, I am being incredibly selfish.

Because if he were to come today, there would still be loads of people who never even got the chance to know about him.  Some who had never even heard his name.  Never had a chance to decide if they wanted to entrust their lives to him or not.  And still  others who had heard and rejected him.   But, perhaps, would come back to him if only they had more time to realize that life without him was not a life worth living.

It seems to be a fine line.  Remembering that we are not of this world, but still making the most of our time while we are here.  Keeping eternal things in mind, and yet not just pining away for the day we will spend eternity in heaven.

Wow!  This is probably the shortest post I’ve ever written in my life.  I think it’s because writing daily for the 31 days is using up my million words a  day (or however many words a day it is that the typical female says in a day).

7 thoughts on “James 5: Be patient

  1. I didn’t consider that before, but I completely agree! I do know that’s why He hasn’t come yet – there are still some who would choose His redemption of their lives!

    My coffee/newspaper example was partially drawn from a metaphor already used in the literature I was analyzing, so I can by no means take full credit for that!

    Sometimes I’m not motivated either – like now, when I’m supposed to be writing a paper and would much rather be catching up on reading blog posts since I’m a few days behind. And I know that there’s a difference between being motivated to write academically and to write personally, but sometimes for me, they’re the same. I still call myself writer, even when all I want to do is throw pens and pencils and word processors out the nearest window. Keep writing, my friend. Doubting your status as a writer is what proves that you are!

Leave a Reply

