31 Days of Date Nights {Day 5} Rock Climbing

Welcome to 31 Days of Date Nights. My plan is to give you a simple date night idea, (mostly frugal ones) every day for the month of October.   You can access all posts in this series here.

I never in my life thought I’d give rock climbing a try.  And I haven’t ever gone rock climbing outside, off the side of a cliff.  And I’m pretty sure I never will.

But, DH loves to go indoor rock climbing.  In fact, he and a friend go to a climbing gym three times a week on their lunch hour.  So when we were dating, DH suggested we go to the climbing gym.  He was sure I’d be good at it.

But, he was wrong!  You see, I may look like I’m athletic, but looks can be deceiving!  I’m not very strong (although after having a child, my arms are a lot stronger than they used to be, what with all the lifting I do these days!)  and apparently I’m a bit of a chicken!

I did get into a harness (that was extremely uncomfortable) and managed to climb part way up one wall.  But then I chickened out and came back down.  I didn’t even give bouldering a try.

Bouldering is for the super strong (and adventurous) people.  You basically climb the wall, grabbing onto various holds and you don’t use any ropes.  If you fall, hopefully you land on your feet, because below you (at least at this gym) are dusty rocks.

It’s an indoor  gym people!  Why can’t they have a bouncy castle type thing under you if you fall??? Maybe, just maybe, I’d give bouldering a try if they did that!  Though I might fall on purpose…I love those bouncy castles!

From what you’ve read so far, you might be thinking that this sounds like a disaster of a date.  But it wasn’t.

It was really cool to see how strong DH is and to let him show off a bit.  It was also neat to see what the gym looks like.  DH spends a lot of time there, so I can at least picture what he’s talking about when he comes home with stories.

Rock climbing may not be an option for you or your mate, but what about joining your spouse in another hobby they have?  Remember when you were dating and you were game to do anything just so long as it meant spending time with that person?  Try and get back in that frame of mind.

By the way, this was a frugal date for us because DH has a membership to the rock climbing gym, and his work covers half the cost (amazing, huh?)  And he gets buddy passes every so often, so I used that pass to get in for free.  

One thought on “31 Days of Date Nights {Day 5} Rock Climbing

  1. You are brave! That does sound like a fun date. It wouldn’t be as frugal for us, but it’s still worth looking into, I know we have a rock climbing place not too far from us. Thanks for the idea!

Leave a Reply

