31 Days of Date Nights {Day 3} Laser Tag

Welcome to 31 Days of Date Nights. My plan is to give you a simple date night idea, (mostly frugal ones) every day for the month of October. You can access all posts in this series here.

As I was looking through my list of date night ideas, I realized that a lot of them were things DH and I had done when we were dating.  Or typical things that kids do for fun.

Then I started thinking about how when I get together with a girlfriend, it doesn’t matter if we go to a movie, for a walk, out to dinner etc.  The focus is not the activity, but on each other.  On catching up, reconnecting, talking, listening.  And I think it should be the same with date nights.  I am elated just to be out of the house with DH and have no responsibility other than to relax and have fun!  And connect.

The idea for today is to play laser tag.  (Or if that is not a feasible option for you, think of something similar.  Like paintball,  perhaps?)

I mentioned that most of my ideas would be frugal.  Everybody probably has their own idea on what constitutes as being frugal.  The only reason we played laser tag  was because we had a Groupon to pay for it.  We would probably never have paid full price to play laser tag.

When we walked into the laser tag place (which neither of us had been to before), we were a bit surprised to find that of the 30 people we played with, all were little kids, except for maybe 3 or 4 other adults!  I don’t know why we hadn’t thought about the fact that the only people playing laser tag on a Saturday morning would be kids at birthday parties!

And these kids were not just playing around.  The first game was a free for all, where you’d get points for any person you zapped.  I made my way to the top level and was ambushed by a bunch of kids.  I felt like I was in school and was being picked on!  I wanted to tell them that they were really wasting their time ganging up on me as they had to stand there and take turns shooting me and wait for my pack to light up again before the next person could shoot me, versus just  shooting one another!!!  One kid said, “It’s the lady!  It’s the lady!” every time he saw me!!!

DH finished 4th out of both games.  I was 13 the first game and 6th the second.  I have no idea how I did so well the second game because I was distracted by a little boy who was scared and wanted me to walk around with him and then we came across another kid whose gun wasn’t working so I went in search of the employee that was wandering around the maze.   But, not only did I manage to score better in the second round, we were on teams that time (DH and I wound up on opposing teams) and my team won – woohoo!!!

My trigger finger was sore from the repetitive motion before the first game was even over with.  But, still, I was surprised to find later on at Starbucks that I had developed a small blister on it!!  We stopped by Starbucks on the way home, which was nice.  Since we couldn’t really talk while playing laser tag, we got to debrief afterwards and just hang out for a bit.

5 thoughts on “31 Days of Date Nights {Day 3} Laser Tag

  1. Your account of the activities during the second round were hilarious! Seriously my favorite part. I’ve been married for 7 years and I’m blessed with a husband who values date night. I was so excited to see this idea for 31 days. I want to try the cooking together cake idea from Day 1 this coming weekend. I’ll let you know how it goes. Hooray for marriage!

    • Thanks Holly! I tend to have very long posts and had thought of cutting out the personal story behind this idea, so I’m really glad you enjoyed it! Please do let me know how you like the cake. My husband likes to eat it fresh out of the oven, but if you save some for a day or two after you make it, the flavor is much, much better. If I’m serving it to company, I try to make it a couple of days ahead of time for that very reason.

Leave a Reply

