Discipline Challenge: Week One {Exercise days 1 and 2)

I’m participating in the Women Living Well Discipline Challenge. To see all my posts in this series, go here.

On Tuesday I decided to try a workout DVD I bought several years ago and think I might have attempted to do it once before shortly after I purchased it.  Here’s a summary of how I felt about 2 minutes into the workout:

“You call this a warm up?   I’m about to die, how am I gonna make it through the actual work out section?”

The DVD is called “Firm It Up!  A Dance Workout by Suzanne Cox”  Never heard of her?  Me neither, but she was a UK Gladiator.  That shoulda told me then and there that this was not the workout for someone who hadn’t been exercising on a regular basis.

I’m used to doing about a 20 minute workout from start to finish.  This one was 30 minutes and it was super intense.  Also, the moves were hard to follow.  I consider myself a seasoned aerobics exerciser.  I’ve been doing these types of workouts since I was a kid.  But, the tempo of this was wayyy too fast and combining the arms with the leg movements was just about impossible.

Less than an hour after finishing up the workout, my legs were sore!!  I figured that was not a good sign.  But, the next day I actually felt pretty good.  The following day though, my knee was bothering me.

On Saturday I decided to try an exercise video that I got from the library.  It’s called “Get Fit Daily Dozen 12 moves 12 minutes” by Denise Austin.  I knew I should probably do pilates or yoga since my knees bothered me after my first day of exercise, but I really prefer aerobics.  So, I did a 12 minute “Cardio-athletic fat blast.”  Again, in the first few minutes, I felt like I was in over my head!  The tempo was sooo fast!!  At least I knew how to do most of the moves, though!

I guess I’ve been stuck in the 80′s doing old exercise tapes.  Another favorite VHS of mine was by Kathy Smith.  I found it at the library in Canada in 2003 and then bought it on eBay.  But, since my VCR is broken, I guess I’m gonna have to find some newer videos I can use.  Which apparently means I’m going to be working much harder in my exercises than I was used to!

One thought on “Discipline Challenge: Week One {Exercise days 1 and 2)

  1. Hello! Thanks for visiting my blog. Just thought I would pop on over and check yours out. I’ve been trying to get into shape this year. Ugh! I’ve never been very good at working out, but I did find a video that challenged and motivated me. It is the PrayFit 33 Day Total Body Challenge. I’m completely uncoordinated, so I like that it is a great workout with simple moves. Just thought you might want to check it out.

Leave a Reply

