7: Stress

I’m joining Marla for another read-a-long.  You can find all posts in this series here.

I am a high stress person.  When I was in the working world, I lost many nights sleep fretting over work related things.  When I was in charge of an office move, I had trouble sleeping for days (weeks?) because I kept thinking of things I needed to remember to do and was eager to get into the office and just do them!

Now that I’m a stay at home mom, I am still a rather high stress person, it’s just that my stress is more related to things in my home life than in my work life.  Like a recent situation with our neighbor who was going to contact his lawyer about our shared fence falling down to see if he had a case that we should shoulder all of the cost for it to be fixed because he thinks our bush helped knock it down (combined with the severe wind we get in our city).  My husband just shrugged it off and said some people like to threaten things like that to scare you.  But, I couldn’t get the thought out of my mind that we were now going to have a tense relationship with our neighbor.

One thing I appreciate about how we do life is that we are homebody’s.  Before I got married I worked full-time and had plans most nights of the week and had multiple plans over the weekend.

My husband and I are introverts and have really settled into the routine of not usually having plans on weeknights.  We used to sing in the choir and were each in a Bible study, but once our daughter arrived, we pretty much cut out all our outside activities.  We still go to church and have friends over, we just don’t have any standing commitments every week, other than going to church.

Our daughter is only two, so she isn’t involved in any extra curricular activities.  And I hope as she gets older, that will continue to be the case.  I’m not saying that she can’t be involved in anything, but I don’t want to follow the example of another family member whose kids are involved in everything.   Seriously.  A few weeks ago we went to one of their kid’s birthday parties (on a Saturday) and found out that they had 3 other events going on that day besides the party.  Oh, my word!  That is just not the type of life I want to lead.

I’m reading a book by Dr. Kevin Leman and he tells the story of someone visiting his family and after observing them together, she asks how they got to be such a tight knit family.  His answer was that they didn’t do a lot of outside activities and they spent a lot of time together which allowed them to bond and learn to actually enjoy one another’s company.  That’s what I want for my family

To switch gears here.  The thing that most spoke to me in this chapter was when   Jen was talking about refugees (p 206-208) and how they need people to help  them navigate things in their new country.

I lived in Canada for a year and knew a couple of refugees.  They both were living with families who were helping them get on their feet and get off to a good start.  I keep in touch with one of the girls who was a refugee and found out that both she and her Mom have become believers.  Isn’t that  amazing?  Her Mom  has a steady job and is able to support she and her daughter and they know the Lord.  I love it.  And reading the few pages where Jen spoke about refugees,  it made me want to reach out and help those in my city who are new to our country and trying to rebuild their lives.

I get so frustrated feeling like I am not in a season where I can use my skills to help others.  Perhaps getting involved with refugees will be a good outlet for me.

3 thoughts on “7: Stress

  1. I think this is such a hard balance to strike. I can absolutely see the need for staying home and being a family (we’ve gotten addicted to a new board game this weekend and have spent so much time together), but I also know how important it is to reach out to others. I’m trying to figure out how to make our home a safe haven but not a place where we hide from the needs of the world around us.

    p.s. I think your link is broken on my blog. I couldn’t click on it. Do you want to try to fix it, or I can.

  2. I want a tight-knit family too! Thanks for the reminder about the refugee part. That is awesome that you still keep in touch with that girl, what a great story. I have enjoyed your posts, your honesty and your insights over the past weeks!!

  3. Our 7 celebration is going to happen tomorrow instead of today, in case you want to link up one last time. Jen is taking over the blog. Soooo excited!

Leave a Reply

